Reviews of Les Deux Alpes, France

| Write a Review...
Reviews
  3.67 of 5  (9 reviews)
5 stars:
(0)
4 stars:
(7)
3 stars:
(1)
2 stars:
(1)
1 star:
(0)
Review By
Sort Reviews By:   Rating      Review Rating      Date of Review    
Eddie-H-98
Reviews: 1
    4 of 5,  ""ok" resort"  26/04/2017 @ 21:44
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Revision #4 (Last edited: 26/04/2017 @ 21:53)
Price Paid
£800 inc.flights/lift pass/best snow hire
Booked Trip Through
Sunweb
Times Visited
Just Once
Review Detail
time visited 19/2/2017-25/2/2017
So i'll start off with the resort, it is very lively and big, offering a very good night life, good quality restaurants and shops. Bars/clubs had a buzz included The Secret Bar to start the night off and Avalanche to finish it.

As the resort is situated in a valley there isn't really a possibility of ski in/ski out unless your hotel is on the edge of the town. I think there were 3 lifts going up the main side of the mountain, these were ridiculously busy between 9 and 10am. The only way you could avoid up to hour long queues would be to arrive at the lifts 15 minutes before opening. Likewise to someone else on this thread, one day it took us 1.5 hours to reach the top of piste. Once halfway up the mountain I would recommend you get the Glaciers chairlift to the top rather than the Jandri Express 2, as waiting time is minimal and it seemed to move just as quick.

Now to the snowboarding part... We began the week on greens, and ended doing almost every black, so we covered most of the resort and found some spectacular runs. Really most of the green runs are narrow, definitely recommend avoiding them if you are a boarder as they are too flat and cause calf burns from hell! Onto Blues, the 16km Jandri Express is a must, although it's busy it is very wide and fun, fast in parts, Fee is also a good shout (there is a big flat section that caught me out). As for Reds there are really fast groomed runs and also Moguly sections. The Bellecombes black was my favourite on the whole mountain, very challenging with massive Moguls. There was also a very rocky, moguly black, took a lot of skill and was relatively long. I don't do park riding but from what i rode they had good sections for beginner to expert.

Now for the disappointing part, the snow.... conditions were pretty bad, getting worse throughout the week (although gotta say it was blue skies the whole time we were there). There was not much possibility for off-piste as it was all rock hard and very icy. the biggest problems occurred on the runs into the resort, it was chaotic. by the end of the week only one out of the four runs was open, The Jandri Express. It was very choppy and bumpy by the end of the day, you always had people 2m away from you, and constantly having to dodge the fallen. Snow cover was terrible at resort level but most of the piste is high so there was plenty above 2000m. I would recommend that you get a lift down to the resort if you are finishing after 4pm.

A few notes, there seemed to be poor snowfall across every resort so would not look much into that. Transfer is potentially 1 hour but we had a 3 hour traffic jam. spent £500. Me and my friends progressed very quickly, helped by some very long runs. Would say 95% were skiers, 5% snowboarders, with surprisingly not a lot of English people. Finally, i would recommend it as there is plenty of ski-area and other activities to do, just make sure you get to the lifts early.

P.S. just remembered, the nursery slopes seemed very poor, parts didn't have snow cover and looked very icy
Strengths
Night-life
A flat resort, no walking up hills
Plenty of shops, patisseries etc.
Suitable for beginners to advanced
Good Park
stunning views, most notably on the Thuit 1 run
Best Runs:
Bellecombes 6 (black)
Super Diable (blue,red and black)
Pierre Grosse 2 (rocky black)
Fee 4 (red) - very good for getting a top speed, as it can be empty and flattens out, i reached 57mph
Jandri Express (blue)
All of the Glaciers (blues and reds) - best part of the moutain, groomed, fun, fast and varied.
Glaciers 4 or 1 (not sure) - A blue shaped like an S with big banks on each corner, super fun
Hot Spots
Pano Bar, quick food service, and is located halfway up the mountain in the heart of the piste
Avalanche
The Secret Bar
Weaknesses
Big queues
Limited ski in/ski out as no runs go through the resort unlike places such as like Val Thorens
Too icy for off piste due to little snow
Narrow Greens
A couple of unavoidable flat sections
Busy closing runs
Runs littered with stones at lower altitude
Alot of ice patches
Similar Resorts Visited
none
  Reload  Top
netheo86
Reviews: 4
UK - England
    2 of 5,  "Disappointing resort"  23/02/2017 @ 10:32
Price Paid
425pp
Booked Trip Through
Igluski (Neilson)
Times Visited
Just Once
Review Detail
So I had high hopes for Les Deux Alpes and was very disappointed from a snowboarding pov. The queues in the morning were crazy, the snow cover minimal (no artificial snow-making going on).

The main lifts up are in desperate need of replacing, the Jandri Express is slow (22 minutes to the mid point / first stop), you have to get off and back on if you want to continue to the top of the glacier and only carries about 20 people per cabin. A few days we gave up queuing for this one and went over to Oeufs Blancs, an even older, 2 person cabin lift that doesn't go as high but links up with the Telepherique that goes to the Jandri mid point.

We did go right to the top of the glacier one day, which took around 1.5 hours with all the queuing and messing about getting from the jandri lift down to the funiculaire. You can get a t-bar instead but that's a mugs game on a snowboard and not really any quicker as it's further away.
The irritating thing is the the slopes are amazing up there, not chopped up, varied terrain and pistes that you can smash down if the mood takes you. We went down the Signal reds, amazing, until you see the huge queue, for the only lift up, at the bottom. 25 minute wait.

I could go on but it's much of the same. Lift queues, not easy to get around, with loads of green runs to avoid if you're on a snowboard, especially if you're a beginner. Two of our group, who had not snowboarded before, ended up walking Jandri 2 every time. It's super long, super flat, pretty exposed at points on one side and not all that wide.
We also found finding your way around tricky compared to other resorts, sign posts aren't all that easy to follow. More than once we ended up missing our intended piste.

Best runs for us were, the Bellecombes selection (especially if there's fresh snow and even if it's super windy from the south), Signal reds up on the Glacier and the Glacier runs towards the Jandri blues

When the weather closes in, go to the spa. There's not many places to go that are out of the wind and no tree lined runs.

My advice would be go to Les Arcs/La Plange area or Tignes.

The resort itself is great and pretty large. There's a huge selection of restaurants and bars to suit all budgets. Loads of hotel options.
We stayed at Les Lutins, a nice French B&B located fairly centrally - full review on trip advisor under the same username.
Strengths
Great nightlife
Loads of restaurant options at every budget
Glacier slopes are amazing
Hot Spots
Red Frog (for the football)
Smokey Joes
Avalanche
Secret Bar
Le Takeaway restaurant for a cheap lunch
Weaknesses
Life queues were insane (first week of Feb)
Not a snow sure resort unless you stay up high
Very exposed slopes
Jandri 2 (green slope, very flat and long) not easily avoided depending on where you're staying
Lower slopes get very chopped up
Similar Resorts Visited
Les Arcs
Tignes
  Reload  Top
arronleeds
Reviews: 2
West Yorkshire
    3 of 5,  "Nice town but the ski area and lifts need to be improved"  05/03/2014 @ 22:04
Price Paid
£830 including lift passes
Booked Trip Through
Neilson
Times Visited
Just Once
Review Detail
I went with the family a group of very mixed abilities and my girl friend who was pregnant at the time so didn't snowboard. We stayed in a Neilson challet Alendre it was really nice and the food was very good, the rooms were basic but had everythig you needed. The town it's self is quite big and theres plenty of bars and shops not that much apres ski though. the ski area isnt that big even though its spread over two mountains. They need to address the runs as well most mornings we were findings runs that hadn't been piested and alot of the runs that were coloured blue were quite steep in places.
Strengths
Big town
Park
Lots of off piest
Hot Spots
Pano bar
Weaknesses
Steepness of blue runs
some slow chair lifts
Begineer area
  Reload  Top
RatoSaco
Reviews: 14
Singapore
    4 of 5,  "Mixed Feelings"  11/03/2007 @ 18:37
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Price Paid
£670 (inc lift pass)
Booked Trip Through
Neilson
Times Visited
Just Once
Review Detail
1st thing I noticed about the actual town/resort is just how big it is. It's a decent trek from one end to the other and it's full of bars, hotels and ski/boarding shops. This made it pretty difficult to work out where all the hotspots were, unlike Meribel for example where it doesn't take long to work out that everyone goes to Rondpoint for apre or Le Pub/Dicks in the evening. Never the less after asking about it seems the Red Frog, Smokeys, Secret Bar and the one with the hanging fire place are all pretty busy in the evenings. We never really found a decent apre bar with live music and sweaty bodies getting smashed until 7 or 8pm before dinner although Windsor bar was nice and relaxed and served up a great pint of Hoegarrden. The owner also dished out a few free comedy drinks when you've been in a couple of days. It's pretty easy to get carried away in the evening and get absolutely wasted in Brazil, Smithys and then next door in Avalanche. As far as clubs go they're good, better than Dicks Tea bar in Meribel and Chamonix.
As for the runs I found them to be slighty boring. The queues in the morning were frightening, though we later learned that it was the French holidays so guessing they accounted for a lot of the waiting round. It did seem that as soon as you were up one gondola that you stepped out and waited for another. The 3 lifts servicing the resort to the mountain are just not able to cope. The red (Telecabine du Diable) and and white eggs (Telecabine du Jandri 1) are accient and only able to carry 4 people at a time (but normally just have 2 in) and the Express (Jandri Express) is therefore mobbed every morning.
There are some very good runs to come down from the Glacier 3200m, red Breche and blue Jandri. These were good wide runs with a decent gradient for gunning down at top speed. The black Super Diable run is also a good laugh. Off piste is also quiet good. We were lucky enough to have several over night dumps so could enjoy some quailty powder. Snowparks were probably the best I've been to so far, good selection of kickers and rails and a well maintained half pipe. We also got a posh taxi in the form of a helicopter over to Alpes D'Huez for the day which was a real bonus. Some decent runs over there too, loved the black one with the tunnel.
Overall the resort is pretty good, enough runs to keep you busy for a week, great snowpark too. Not great for drinking between 4:30 and 7pm, lots of places open but nowhere particularly rocked. After dinner drinking was good, decent clubs. Shame about the queues and having to walk 10-15 mins around the resort from hotspot to hotspot
Strengths
Good snow coverage
Good for all levels of boarder
Excellent Snowpark
Wide variety of bars, shops, restaurants
Hot Spots
Red Frog
Smokey Joes
Brazil
Smithys
Avalache
Windsor Pub
Weaknesses
Queues
Possibly not enough to keep you busy for a season
Town is fairly spread out so be prepared to walk about a bit
Similar Resorts Visited
Too many to mention
  Reload  Top
cascharlie
Reviews: 1
West Yorkshire
    4 of 5  20/03/2005 @ 15:16
Price Paid
£330
Booked Trip Through
Neilson
Times Visited
Just Once
Review Detail
Our first boarding holiday so nothing to compare it to, but we had a great time and found the resort to be a great place for beginners to quickly improve their skills.
Strengths
Nice mix of runs which allowed us newbie boarders to quickly build up confidence throughout the week - we were riding red runs on our third day and managed to get down the black run home twice on the last day with no traumas. There's also a nice wide blue accessed via an 8-man chairlift which is great for getting some serious speed up and getting used to straightlining. It wasn't too crowded when we went (early March) and despite the last snowfall being two weeks before we arrived, the pistes were still great to ride. There's a nice boardpark which we unfortunately didn't have time to fully explore but there are also freestyle elements built into freeride runs, such as the pipe at Cascades which also has a few kickers. It's also possible to ride all the way down from 3600m to the resort at 1650m without resorting to hiking or skating if you plan your route carefully. We were fairly impressed with the lift system - mostly nice fast chairlifts and cable cars apart from a few buttons at the very bottom of the resort for the beginners' runs and a nasty T-bar running up from 3200m. While we were there the weather was fairly kind, it was easily possible to ride all day in just a t-shirt (although you'd probably want to take a hoodie for the lifts) even up on the glacier. We had no problems with our breathing at high altitude and we're not exactly the fittest bunch ever to have taken to the slopes, and the views from up top are awesome.
Hot Spots
The Red Frog pub is great for a quick snack (great chicken burgers/combos etc) and the internet access is only 10c a minute. "Pub" has friendliest bar staff willing to tell you all the best places to go. We'd also heard good things about Smokey Joes but when we went there for a meal they messed us around for an hour before offering us four barstools and a high table, so we left. Avoid.
Weaknesses
If you're not confident enough to ride a steep (but wide) black or an icy, narrow green then you'll have to get a lift back to the resort. Late in the day the queues are long (up to half an hour for a lift from 2600). The nightlife wasn't anything to write home about and the prices of drinks and food were a bit on the high side (4-5 euros for a beer and 10 euros for a modest meal) although there are plenty of cheap supermarkets if you're on a bit of a budget.
Similar Resorts Visited
Does xscape count? Thought not... well this was my first boarding holiday so I haven't been to any other resorts.
  Reload  Top
Subscribe using any feed reader!
Read more reviews for resorts in FRANCE.
Search for a Product
Advanced Search
Latest Reviews Latest Reviewed Products RSS Feed
- Les Deux Alpes, France
- Trysil, Norway
- Zell Am See, Austria
- Notre-Dame de Bellecombe, France
- Christchurch Ski & Leisure Centre, Dorset
- Big White, Canada
- 49 Degrees North, WA, USA
- Arinsal, Andorra
- Les Arcs 2000, France
- Chalet Chardons (Tignes Les Brevieres, France)
- La Clusaz, France
- Jasna, Slovakia
- Val d'Allos, France
- Le Seignus d'Allos, France
- Never Summer Raptor (13/14)
- Salomon Sick Stick (09/10)
- Oakley O-Frame (06/07)
- Northwave legend (11/12)
- Definition Camps (Hemel Snow Centre, UK - England)
- Under Armour
Get our Newsletter
Your E-mail Address
More Details
Find us on Facebook
© 2001-2017 GONEboarding.co.uk