Linking my turns - dry slope

| Add a new Post...
Post By
  Thread Started By:   user58692   On:   Friday 06/04/2018 @ 13:09 Show Newest First    
user58692
  #2  Linking my turns - dry slope  Posted 06/04/2018 @ 13:09
Hi all!
I'm new to snowboarding, and I've been on the local dry slope learning the heel edge and toe edge.
I can do them both well, but only on their own - I can't go into fall line and into the other edge.

Whenever I try, I get stuck in the fall line and it takes a long time to switch into the right edge so I only get on turn in on the slope. Most of the time, however, I fall while in the fall line and trying to turn.

Any advice on how to improve my linked turns?
Thanks in advance!
          Reload  Top
FruityWax
Worcestershire
  #3  Re: Linking my turns - dry slope  Posted 07/04/2018 @ 02:07
In reply to post #2...
Some useful pointers here...

https://youtu.be/RHG5Fyp-YnY?t=135
          Reload  Top
oldgit
Hampshire
  #4  Re: Linking my turns - dry slope  Posted 10/04/2018 @ 10:29
In reply to post #2...
Getting turns for the first time on a dry slope is hard. You need a good instructor for starters. For heel to toe - find an object at the top of the slope to fix your eyes on. As you start going straight down the fall line turn your head and shoulders up the slope to fix your eyes on your chosen object. Your legs and hips should follow you head and shoulders and bring the board around so you end up across the slope on your toe edge. For toe to heel - try using you front arm to point where you want to go. This technique just gets you starting to feel what a turn is like. You have to get your front knee bent too - again a good instructor will sort all this but I would I really consider going to a snow slope for a lesson as long as you can find a good instructor. The unweighting shown in the video only comes into play once you have got the basics right.
          Reload  Top
PowderPup
Hampshire